Home > Wine types > Kosher wine


Kosher wine and the rules which apply to its making

You may have noticed that wine of whatever colour, flavour, taste or strength, is ruled and regulated to death in every country where it is produced or drunk. Not only that but some countries are increasing the tax they levy on wine depending on its strength, and although we cannot state that this applies to kosher wine, we do know that the producing of it is ruled by more regulations than any other.

For a start, kosher wine is only considered to be so if Sabbath-observant Jews have been involved in the entire winemaking process. And that any of the ingredients, which also includes the finings, must be kosher too. Wine which is described as ?Kosher for Passover? can only be so described if it has had no contact with grain, bread or dough.

There is a considerable market for kosher wine these days and the demand for it is growing year on year, with quite a number of wine producing countries producing some surprisingly sophisticated kosher wines under strict control or sabbinical supervision, which may be a better term.

Some of these producing countries are Israel of course, the United States which also has two of the world?s largest producers and importers, France, Germany, Italy, South Africa, and Australia.

To be produced, sold or marketed, kosher wine must have the Seal of Approval, or Hechsher of a supervising body such as the Orthodox Union (OU), or, from an authoritative Rabbi who is also a Posek or decisor of Jewish law. Or lastly, by a Jewish religious court of law called a Beth Din.