Home > Wine facts > French wine regions

French wine regions

To know France is to love France, and though the media in both countries often seems to put our two nations at odds, the truth is that when visiting their country, for a holiday for instance, or to visit any of the thirteen French wine regions, you are sure to be welcomed with open arms.

The French wine regions are:

  • Alsace
  • Beaujolais
  • Bordeaux
  • Burgundy
  • Champagne
  • Corsica
  • Jura
  • Languedoc-Roussillon
  • Loire
  • Provence
  • Rh?ne
  • Savoy
  • South West France

Some of these regions are known even to people who have never drunk wine in their lives, but they may well have heard of the areas and associate them with wine growing.

Probably the most famous wine growing regions in France are Beaujolais, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Champagne, Rhone and Provence, though we stress that this is our own personal opinion rather than an accepted fact.

Now, we accept that time is a major factor in most people's lives, so we simply cannot go into detail here about each and every French wine region, though we will most certainly be exploring each region in more depth at a later date.